By: Hunter Dublin | December 30, 2022
Oregon was among the first states to legalize the use of recreational marijuana and the first state to legalize the use of marijuana for medical purposes. As of July 1, 2015 anyone above 21 years of age is allowed to consume recreational marijuana in Oregon. Although some barriers to marijuana licensing are still there, the state has made a lot of progress in making the process smooth. So, do you want to start a marijuana business in Oregon and want to know how to get a license? If yes, then you have come to the right place. In this article, we will tell you everything you need to know about Oregon marijuana license. Make sure you read until the end so that you don’t miss any crucial information.
Cannabis regulatory agencies in Oregon
There are two primary regulatory agencies in the state of Oregon that supervise the recreational cannabis industry. They include the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) and the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA). The Oregon Liquor Control Commission regulates compliance and license for cannabis that contains more than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). The OLCC alongside Oregon rules and regulations recognizes cannabis with more than 0.3% THC as marijuana.
On the other hand, the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) regulates cannabis that is less than 0.3% THC. ODA together with Oregon rules and regulations refers to cannabis with less than 0.3% THC as hemp.
Understanding the difference between these two regulatory agencies and what they do is crucial, especially when applying for a marijuana license in Oregon. In this article, we will focus on the recreational marijuana license, which takes up a lion’s share of the cannabis industry in Oregon.
Recreation marijuana licensing in Oregon
A recent report revealed that the recreational marijuana industry has surpassed the $1.5 billion mark in 2022 in Oregon, making it one of the most lucrative industries to venture into. But in order to participate in this lucrative industry, you must get a license via the OLCC and comply fully with all local and state laws.
Types of marijuana license Oregon
There are six types of marijuana licenses offered in Oregon by the OLCC. They include:
Producers are tasked to grow, cultivate and harvest recreational marijuana. Producer license has different tiers, based on various factors, including whether the producer deal with immature or mature plants, the size of operation, mixed production, and much more.
Laboratories that deal with recreational marijuana must be accredited by two agencies, including OLCC and the Oregon Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program (ORELAP). Licensed laboratories are tasked with testing cannabis and its constituent products.
This license allows the holder to conduct research on marijuana and use that information to benefit the marijuana industry, public health, and medical research.
The holder of this license is allowed to compound, process, or convert hemp or marijuana into cannabinoid products such as vape cartridges, edibles, tinctures, and much more. Most processors are supposed to get a license from OLCC and ODA.
Wholesalers are supposed to purchase large quantities of marijuana from other OLCC processors and other licensed growers and sell the product to OLCC producers, retailers, and other wholesalers.
Retailers are required to sell marijuana directly to consumers.
Requirements for Oregon marijuana license
-Make sure your business is not located on the OLCC opt-out list.
-You need to ensure that your business is compliant with all collation regulations that have been put in place like having a proper permit for your business.
-You need to create an account in order to submit your license application. You must also pay a non-refundable fee of $250
-You should be ready to submit the following information about your business including your mailing address, business name, SSN, and physical address.
-You must get all the building permits for your business
-You must receive a land use compatibility statement from the local authority that authorizes the use of land on your proposed business location.
How to get a marijuana license Oregon
Unlike other states that have put a limit on the number of marijuana licenses, Oregon does not have a formal cap on the number of licenses that a business should apply for. But in June 2018, the OLCC stopped processing new licenses for producers in order to complete the pending licenses. So, if you intend to enter the marijuana industry as a producer, the only way to do so is by purchasing a license from an existing license holder.
Below is a step-by-step process on how to obtain a marijuana license in Oregon
Step 1: Create your account at Oregon.gov site
Step 2: Pay a non-refundable fee of $250
Step 3: Submit your license application form
Step 4: Submit information about your business including mailing address, business name, SSN, and physical address.
Note: Ensure that you comply with all requirements including obtaining all the building permits for your business before you submit your application form.
There are several Oregon Marijuana License checklist that you can use to help aid you in the process to obtaining your license.
How much does a Oregon marijuana license cost?
Type of license
Annual application fee
Annual license fee
Retail courier, micro-wholesaler, micro-producer tier 1 and 2
Producers, retailers, processors, medical dispensaries, and wholesalers
How to renew your Oregon marijuana license?
To renew your marijuana license log in to your account then go to “my records” to locate your license. Click on the provided in the action column to complete the renewal process.
If you need to make any changes to your marijuana licensee, you need to do so before submitting your renewal.
Oregon Marijuana Worker Permits
This license is for any person working in the Oregon Marijuana Industry. All employees should have a Marijuana Worker Permit if they are working at:
NOTE: All persons working within the industy are required to be 21 years or older to be eligible for a Oregon Marijuana Woker Permit.